Chia Seed Pudding

Lately, I’ve been trying to slim down in time for pool season (and for life in general, really). So, I decided to go on a detox. What did this entail exactly? It meant eating 1200 calories a day. I essentially couldn’t eat any any sort of carbohydrates (especially processed) and my diet consisted of lean meats, and lots of fruits and veggies for 30 days. It was similar to that of a paleo diet but I could have dairy.

I only had to last 1 month. That couldn’t have been too hard right? WRONG. Let me tell you, for a person who tends to indulge in any and all sorts of cravings without thinking twice about it (read: ZERO SELF CONTROL), it was rough. That also made eating out extremely difficult. So the solution to this problem was to create a few staple dishes that I could easily make and that would sustain me for the entire month. Frankly, I HAD to think up something that I could eat (and enjoy), otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to get through the first day of the detox, let alone through an entire month.

One of the best things that I got out of this detox, other than losing 9 lbs of course (can I get a what what!?), was this Chia Seed Pudding recipe that I came up with. Chia seed pudding is super easy to make, all you need is some chia seeds and some sort of liquid (i.e. milk).  When the chia seeds get in contact with a liquid, the chia seeds becomes gelatinous and then BAM, you get chia seed pudding. This is very simplified and non-scientific explanation, obviously, but you get the point. Knowing that it literally takes 2 ingredients to make an extremely basic chia seed pudding, you can predict that making a jazzed up one won’t take that much more effort.

I had chia seed pudding every morning for breakfast therefore I had 30 days to try out different recipes and perfect it.  My favorite chia seed pudding recipe that I came up was conceived on the last day of the detox, it’s like I subconsciously saved the best for last. I call it “My Date’s Gone Bananas Chia Seed Pudding” (hah) – you’ll see why in a bit.

Anyways, enough about me, now onto the pudding. You will need almond milk (original or unsweetened), Greek yogurt (full fat or 2% works best), vanilla extract, honey or deglet dates, bananas, and chia seeds – that’s it! You can switch out almond milk for regular or coconut milk. I would advise against using fat free Greek yogurt because it is not as thick and creamy as its full fat or 2% counterparts, which would make the chia seed pudding less thick and pudding-like.

Ingredients to make Chia Seed Pudding

Ingredients to make Chia Seed Pudding

In a medium sized bowl, add 1/2 cup of Almond Milk and 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt. Mix well until smooth.

Adding the Greek yogurt to the almond milk

Adding the Greek yogurt to the almond milk

Add 2 tablespoons of chia seeds and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and mix well. Pit 4 medium sized Honey or Deglet dates and chop into small pieces – this amounts to about 2 tablespoons of dates. Cut the banana into thin slices.

Sliced bananas and chopped dates

Sliced bananas and chopped dates

Add the sliced bananas and chopped dates into the creamy mixture and stir well.

20140529_220505

Let the chia seed pudding sit for at least two hours for it to reach its full gelatinous capacity.

The finished product!

The finished product!

A spoonful up close. It looks just like pudding doesn't it?!

A spoonful up close. It looks just like pudding doesn’t it?!

This only takes about 5 minutes to make – I would make my chia seed pudding this before I got ready for work. By the time I got to work (factoring in my LA commute), the chia seed pudding would be ready to eat! Perfect for people who have really busy schedules and would love to utilize every minute they have. Super efficient.

If you have the time to make it the night prior, I would. When the chia seed pudding sits overnight, the dates and bananas infuse the chia seed pudding with its natural sugars and really enhances the flavor. It’s like marinating meat, the longer it marinates, the better it tastes.

Depending on the kind of milk and Greek yogurt you use, this recipe ranges from 350-450 calories for 1 serving, and it kept me full  for 4 hours, which is astonishing if you knew how fast food runs through me! The great thing about this recipe is that you don’t need to add any extra sugar. The dates give the pudding that extra honey-like sweetness without the added empty calories or guilt. A ripe banana would also add to the sweetness factor too. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. I am still eating this for breakfast, even after my detox is over. Happy eating!

My Date's Gone Bananas Chia Seed Pudding

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of almond milk
  • 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 medium banana
  • 4 pitted (or 2 tablespoons) of honey or deglet dates (medium-sized)

Directions

In a medium bowl, mix the almond milk and Greek yogurt together until smooth. Add the vanilla extract and chia seeds into the bowl, mix well. Cut the banana into thin slices and chop the dates into small pieces, add to the chia seed pudding. Let the chia seed pudding sit for at least 2 hours, or overnight. Serve chilled and enjoy!

Oh, and the reason why I call this recipe “My Date’s Gone Bananas!” because I lost a pretty decent amount of weight in such a short period of time that people were going a bit nuts (bananas, if you will) because it was so noticeable. So, I figured if I went on a first date right before I went on my detox and then went on a second date right after my detox, said date probably wouldn’t have recognized me. Hence, my date would have gone bananas as if I were a completely different person. Pretty silly, but oh well, it was a fun way to incorporate the ingredients in the name of the recipe :).

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

